From the first moment it was a delight to work with the women at Luminare. The professional knowledge, skill, talent and expertise was evident at every step of the process. Each person was kind, generous with time and information, and consistently competent. I've worked with many other publishers, including the biggest names in the book world, and never got the attention and quick return emails that Luminare provided. I am even tempted to write another book because they made the publishing process so pleasant for me. Roberta Temes

by Roberta Temes

  • Released: November 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I have published many books with a number of other publishers. I would rank Luminare Press, which is my first hybrid publisher, among the best. The publication process for Death in Potter's Woods has been a pleasure from start to finish, and the product is beautiful. I will publish another book with Luminare. I could not be happier. Betty Jean Craige

by Betty Jean Craige

  • Released: November 2021
  • Genre: Novels
The entire staff at Luminare Press is eminently professional and generously patient. Moreover, their knowledge and experience are apparent at each stage toward publication. From initial book cover design to final interior layout, Melissa Thomas displayed extraordinary technical ability and was responsive to any questions that I had. Kim Harper-Kennedy exercised capable stewardship in managing the overall project, especially in the latter stages approaching publication. Caitlin McCrum conducted her work with Amazon and IngramSpark with neither incident nor blemish. Patricia Marshall, clearly the firm’s guiding light, was welcoming and encouraging at the outset. Finally, Luminare Press held true to our contract and I was treated fairly in every way. They all have my heart-felt gratitude for how they conducted business, for their stellar work, and for their kindness. I look forward to being a client of Luminare Press again when my second book is completed a year from now. Dale Moll

by Dale Moll

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I am very impressed with the professional expertise all of the staff at Luminare provided to publish my novel, Fly Home, Butterfly. They let me know ahead of every step in the journey to publication in a timely manner. The quality of the interior and exterior of my book is exceptional. I recommend Luminare to any author seeking to find a quality publisher! Linda L. Graham

by Linda L. Graham

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Novels
This is my sixth book with Luminare Press, so you must be doing something right. Actually, you do everything great, from first contact about a new project, to final design and release. You are super responsive and for an Indie author, that is critical. Without fail, your editors have guided me toward a better manuscript, a tighter final product. I have complete competence in their judgment while maintaining final control over revisions. I enjoy working with the design teams, sometimes bringing in an outside artist or designer (three of the books) to produce a hybrid cover. I am very pleased with the results. My seventh book is in preparation, so I will be working with you again soon. I have already referred several writers to Luminare. L. Wade Powers

by L. Wade Powers

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I worked with at least a half dozen different people at Luminare and each of them were very helpful, very pleasant, and responded to my questions quickly. I have published several books in the past with a variety of publishers and this was my best experience by far. Luminare would make the changes I wanted, unlike traditional publishers who almost always cut my favorite passages, and unlike other non-traditional publishers who often have a very limited number of options. I am totally pleased with the final result. Ron Garland

by Ron Garland

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Memoirs
I'm completely satisfied with my book publishing experience with Luminare from start to finish. They were with me every step of the way with patience and professionalism. The entire team was super great and the process went on without a glitch. Johanna Stenersen

by Johanna Stenersen

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Memoirs
Very much enjoyed working with the team at Luminare Press. They are exceedingly professional and skilled at what they do. The team provided me with a polished finished product, a memoir that I could be proud of. Enjoyed working with Kim, Caitlin, Claire, Jenny, Jamie, Patricia and Melissa and would recommend Luminare Press to anyone else who is thinking about hybrid publishing to produce their work. J.C. Mitchell

by J.C. Mitchell

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Memoirs
My book was quite complicated. It included text, images, charts, appendices, notes, bibliography and an index. Not a problem for the professionals at Luminare Press who handled every phase of publication with consummate expertise. The ease of communicating with the staff, not to mention their ability to accurately interpret and quickly implement my suggestions was truly amazing. The hands-on, personal service that the people at Luminare Press delivered could not have been matched at a major publishing house. To realize that the staff was juggling several projects simultaneously, and that all of this was accomplished remotely while we were all locked down in a pandemic is absolutely extraordinary. Pat Speth Sherman

by Pat Speth Sherman

  • Released: September 2021
  • Genre: Nonfiction
My experience with Luminare Press was outstanding! The team of highly competent, extremely helpful and friendly women did a wonderful job of facilitating all aspects of my book project, as well as guiding me toward the right choices for everything - from the text, to the cover, to Amazon, to the various web pages, and more. There's no way I could have accomplished all of this without them, and for that I'm very grateful. I would strongly recommend Luminare for any of your publishing needs. Jeff Wyman

by Jeff Wyman

  • Released: September 2021
  • Genre: Poetry
Luminare helped me publish my book in two different versions, one in English, and one in Hungarian. The folks I interacted with acted very professionally, they know what they're doing. Initially, I thought maybe I could do all this by myself, but no. The expertise Luminare has was really helpful. And it shows in the end result. I'm really happy with the outcome. Gyuszi Sütő

by Gyuszi Sütő

  • Released: October 2021
  • Genre: Memoirs
I have nothing but praise for the staff, the work you did on the layout of my book was excellent. Also the people I worked with were patient with me and prompt too. Dale Brabb

by Dale Brabb

  • Released: September 2021
  • Genre: Poetry
Luminare Press has given us a home for our book, Another World: Poetry and Art by Young People from The Poetry Studio. Since we were on a strict timeline for the completion and publication of the book, Luminare made adjustments so we could streamline the editing and layout process. The interior design was especially challenging given the number of illustrations and the variety of written components in the text. The designer’s sense of organization and aesthetic acuity, however, overcame all obstacles, and the result is a stunning presentation of the students’ work along with our philosophy of teaching. Additionally, the variety of attendant services provided by Luminare has helped us to promote and market our book. We are indeed fortunate to have had the opportunity to work with such a caring and professional publishing team. Ann Gengarelly and Tony Gengarelly

by Ann Gengarelly and Tony Gengarelly

  • Released: September 2021
  • Genre: Poetry
It has been my extreme pleasure to discover the professional services of Luminare Press, which served to guide me through the publication process for my first four storybooks for children. Beginning with an informative phone conference with Patricia Marshall, the owner, I received an understanding of the basic guidelines, as well as answers to my initial questions. Following this introduction, I began to work with Kim Harper-Kennedy, the highly qualified Operations Manager and with Melissa Thomas, the Graphic Designer, whose work is so valuable. Additionally, I had a chance to have the helpful input of Caitlin McCrum, Publication Assistant. Everyone on the staff was of the highest caliber. Throughout my experience with Luminare Press, my questions were always answered promptly, and guidelines were presented that helped me navigate new territory. Luminare Press is well established and is of notable assistance to the writer. As an author, I am proud to announce my strong devotion to Luminare Press and my sincere respect for their business! Gloria Gardner

by Gloria Gardner

  • Released: September 2021
  • Genre: Children's books
I am very happy with the three books that Luminare Press has published. I am planning on working on many more with their wonderful team. I get a lot of compliments on the books and the suggestions from Claire, Kim and Patricia are very helpful. I highly recommend working with Luminare as they take great care of each book and give a lot of attention to detail and are great people. Kristi Argyle

by Kristi Argyle

  • Released: August 2021
  • Genre: Children's books
Luminare is superb. They hold your hand through the entire publication process, A to Z. And that's with their basic service package. They answer questions promptly, even the stupid ones. Other "hybrid" companies cost more, wanted a guarantee of sequels, or had a two year delay before publication. The only delays I experienced were the ones I caused. And at each step, I could see where I would have wasted time being confused with how to deal with proof reading, type face, book layout, cover design, and pretty constant modifications to each. Then they walk you through (or rather walk and you follow) downloading your files for print and e-book distribution, including running interference with Amazon, Kindle Direct, and Ingram Spark, the main outlets for a self-published book. I couldn't be happier and have already recommended Luminare to fellow authors. Gene Helfman

by Gene Helfman

  • Released: July 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I was very impressed with everyone at Luminare Press. You were helpful and patient with all the questions of a first-time author. The results were all I could hope for. I wish there was a way to get my book out there without having to invest so much more after the publishing Anthony Colburn

by Anthony Colburn

  • Released: July 2021
  • Genre: Novels
You've been wonderful to work with. The enthusiasm and support provided by you and your staff has been excellent. Hope to have more books published by you. Patricia H. Wheeler, PhD

by Patricia H. Wheeler, PhD

  • Released: June 2021
  • Genre: Nonfiction
From my first contact with Luminare Press to the publication of my book on Amelia Earhart it has been a delight. Your staff is friendly, efficient, thorough, and easy to work with. I would recommend you to other authors without any reservation at all. Ernst F. Tonsing

by Ernst F. Tonsing

  • Released: June 2021
  • Genre: Memoirs
Professional, personal, and priority service. This is my third project with Luminare Press and my books and audiobooks are as professional as they come. When asked, people are surprised that my books are self-published. The cover art is superb and the editing and layout is first class. My books are up on Amazon and Kindle and thank goodness, I didn’t have to figure any of that out! I highly recommend Luminare to any author who wants exceptional service at an affordable price. Danuta Pfeiffer

by Danuta Pfeiffer

  • Released: May 2021
  • Genre: Novels
After some mixed experiences with self-publishing in the past I was delighted to discover Luminaire. They produced a 298 page paperback of essays for me. The book itself looks highly professional, and the process was intelligent and helpful from beginning to end. David Bouchier

by David Bouchier

  • Released: April 2021
  • Genre: Nonfiction
I've self-published three books; the last, Vietnam Chase, with Luminare Press. I could not have asked for a better experience. The Luminare team is efficient, very talented and got the job done to my total satisfaction in 60 days. Bob Moody

by Bob Moody

  • Released: March 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I have worked with Luminare Press for five novels now, plus one translated in Italian. They have been so responsive and easy to work with I can't imagine not working with them on my future novels. Melissa has helped me produce wonderful covers which I receive complements on all the time. Kim has always been there when I needed something, explained the process, and made sure I felt comfortable with the end product. And Patricia, she has always been so positive and easy to work with, as well as providing guidance on important aspects such as how to word something to better grab the reader. Overall, I can't say enough about the wonderful people at Luminare. Thank you all for your great service and caring attitudes. James A. Bacca

by James A. Bacca

  • Released: March 2021
  • Genre: Novels
My goal for publishing my first book was to do the whole process locally in Oregon. It was not easy to find but through the experience of an artist/poet friend, I discovered Luminare Press, located in Eugene, Oregon. It was a match made in heaven. My novel takes place in the early medieval world of Venice and Central Asia along what is popularly known as the Silk Road. Luminare Press is the only business that understood the cultural context in which my novel is set. Luminare Press provided an editor that not only is excellent in his craft but that had no problems in understanding and questioning the many Italian and Venetian words in the text. I tell everyone I lucked out in ways I could have never imagined. I'm also thankful for the step-by-step, hand-holding offered to me from day one through to the day I received an actual physical book I could hold. Con gratitudine, Franca Franca Hernandez

by Franca Hernandez

  • Released: March 2021
  • Genre: Novels
After going through the ratings of several self-publishing companies, I chose a few to take a deeper look at. I scoured their websites. Searched the Internet for additional reviews. Gave the companies a call. At the end of the day, I chose Luminare Press to publish my work. Reviews were good, and I liked how they communicated with me. Turns out I made a great decision. I can't say enough about how rewarding it was to work with the staff of Luminare Press. I will use Luminare Press again when I publish The Littlest Christmas Tree. C. Marie Schrant

by C. Marie Schrant

  • Released: February 2021
  • Genre: Novels
I have enjoyed working with this group. I have found them to be very professional, creative and responsive. I published my first book, Lockdown Capers, in February 2021.and was very pleased with the results. We are now putting the final touches on my 2nd and 3rd book, "Lockdown Aftermath", and "Nature Talks" . Definitely a company to take along with you on a publishing journey. John R. Pistacchi

by John R. Pistacchi

  • Released: February 2021
  • Genre: Nonfiction
From the very beginning I could tell that the staff at Luminare Press was highly experience and that they aimed for a superb product. They were at all times professional, patient, and always on top of all the hurdles which came along. They were particularly experienced at problem solving. Because all mentioned above I ended up with an attractive and professional product which has been praised in this country and abroad. Alberto P. Ràfols

by Alberto P. Ràfols

  • Genre: Memoirs
Patricia and Claire were so helpful in 2012 when I published with Luminare Press. There was no question where I would take my second book in 2020. Writing a book is one thing; the presentation of that work is another. The staff has had many additions, and I am again pleased with our results. A hearty thank you, Patricia and crew. Virginia Salinsky Landgreen

by Virginia Salinsky Landgreen

  • Genre: Memoirs
Luminare Press made me a believer in hiring professionals to help with aspects like design, formatting, and publishing to get your indie book where it needs to be. I have edited, formatted, and published my own books, but I was never 100 percent confident in marketing those self-published titles. Now, with immense hands-on help from the staff at Luminare Press, I finally have a book that I feel proud of—cover to cover. I will not be self-publishing again without the help of Luminare Press. Terah Van Dusen

by Terah Van Dusen

  • Genre: Children's books
Having worked with other agencies in the past, I found Luminare Press a breath of fresh air. Professional, responsive, knowledgeable, and reliable, they did everything they promised when they said they would, giving me advice and encouragement along the way. This is the second book project "birthed" for me by Luminare, and I'm preparing a third. The products are beautiful, and I'm proud to say I'm a Luminare client. Gail A. Webber

by Gail A. Webber

  • Released: November 2020
  • Genre: Novels
As someone who is not particularly computer literate, it became immediately apparent to me that self-publishing on my own would not be the best path. So finding Luminare was a godsend for me. Everyone I worked with was experienced, thoughtful, talented, knowledgeable, kind, considerate, and a complete pleasure to work with. Since I would work with them again in a heartbeat, I can unequivocally recommend them without any hesitation. Marianne Hesse

by Marianne Hesse

  • Genre: Children's books
I worked with several members of the Luminare staff to publish a long book with over ninety illustrations. I welcomed editorial reviews and advice about the placement of the illustrations, along with guidance through the publishing tasks and the creation of a website. This was my first book and I very much appreciated the staff’s counsel, support, and encouragement through every step. I’m very pleased with the book’s appearance, marketability, and favorable reviews regarding its design and typography. The Luminare staff made this complicated process manageable and educational. The staff is doing it again now to add reviews to the book's back cover and create a file for a hardcover edition of the book. I'm grateful for this good work. Dorothy Brown Soper

by Dorothy Brown Soper

  • Released: October 2020
  • Genre: Young adult
Being a novice to writing a first book and working with publishers, I was very fortunate to have selected Luminare Press. The director and staff were all so helpful along every step of the way. I am very pleased with the final product and it would not have turned out as well, had it not been for the help of the many support staff to be certain they everything was completed properly. I also went though a revision and update which was the same great service. They are 5-star ! Stanley Papel

by Stanley Papel

  • Released: October 2020
  • Genre: Nonfiction
Glad to recommend the complete list of services offered by the folks at Luminare Press. They provided team work solutions to all of my requests along the path to publication. For a first time published author that gave me confidence throughout my whole journey. Steve L Whysel

by Steve L Whysel

  • Released: September 2020
  • Genre: Children's books
Luminare Press has a wonderful staff and did excellent and professional work from beginning to final product. Frederick T. Golder

by Frederick T. Golder

  • Released: October 2020
  • Genre: Business, How-to and Self-Help
Skiing and the Poetry of Snow is the third book I have published with Luminare Press, and I can say unequivocally that they are a joy to work with (and yes, as an author, I know you are not supposed to end a sentence with a preposition). The attention to detail, the extremely helpful edits, the pleasant and accommodating personalities of all of the staff make the process easy and fun. This last book was done remotely, and while it went off without a hitch, I did miss just sitting down and laughing with the folks at Luminare. They are the best. John Frohnmayer

by John Frohnmayer

  • Genre: Nonfiction
From my first “cold call” with Patricia to working with Claire and Kim at Luminare Press, it couldn’t have been easier! As a first-time self-publisher, everything and everyone was organized and efficient to make it easy for me. Working with Claire Flint Last as the designer was amazing. She captured the essence of my vision on the cover and worked closely with me on all design changes needed to complete this beautiful book of letters my father sent my mother during WWII. I cannot recommend Luminare Press more highly Shelly N. Brown

by Bernard D. Brown

  • Genre: Memoirs
The experience of working with the Luminare Press staff with my last two novels was not only positive but fun. If I ever get this new one finished we will do it again. Thomas Clark

by Thomas Clark

  • Released: July 2020
  • Genre: Novels
I have written three books; two of them have been published and sold through the national booksellers and distributors. My first book was published through a major publisher and, being under contract with them, did not cost me a red cent. My second book, produced during the Pandemic and shutdown of 2020, was published by Luminare Publishing. My experience with Luminare Publishing... though costing me personal financial investment ... was far superior to the experience with the other publishing company. From the communications to the proofreading/editing... to the graphic arts provided and the keeping to stated timelines and deadlines... there was never any part of the process, in partnership with Luminare, that was anything short of excellent! I can not imagine any book publishing company that would produce a better product, and be better to work alongside of. Peter O. Pritchard

by Peter O. Pritchard

  • Released: June 2020
  • Genre: Nonfiction
I have recommended Luminare after having had two books published by their team. I was given accurate estimates of when phases of the projects would be done, avoiding disappointments. The team worked hard even when weather clearly interfered—they pulled through. This shows not only personal commitment but good leadership. As a writer easily stressed out by technical issues, I appreciated being able to leave that to the Press. When I have another project, no question about my returning to Luminare.

by Diana Morley

  • Released: June 2020
  • Genre: Poetry
From the first conversation with Patricia to receiving my finished book I felt like I was in good hands in the unknown (to me) world of publishing. They moved through the process at my pace and we’re always available for to answer questions or give advice. I highly recommend Luminare to authors considering this route to bringing a book into the world. Mindy Cameron

by Mindy Cameron

  • Released: July 2020
  • Genre: Memoirs
My experience with Luminare Press was stellar. Frankly, this whole group of people surprised me, as every person with whom I had contact was knowledgeable, professional, personable, and kind. Their editing was well worth the cost, as multiple "eyes on" the manuscript caught things I'd missed even after multiple reviews. They gave clear directions regarding each step in the process, and the end product—my book—is something of which I'm proud. Thank you, Luminare Press! I'll be checking in with a new project soon! Gail A. Webber

by Gail A. Webber

  • Genre: Novels
I want to emphasize that working with the Luminare staff on my book, "Cowgirl: the Life & Times of a Special border Collie", was delightful. It was a very educational and rewarding experience, and I am now working with them on the second edition of "The Light and Loves of My Life". I am so excited!! "Cowgirl" turned out beautifully. I have no doubt that when I see the finished product of my new book, that I will be just as pleased or more so. I can't wait!! Ann Blackburn

by Ann Blackburn

  • Released: April 2020
  • Genre: Nonfiction
Luminare Press worked with me in the best possible way to put my manuscript in book form. They had competitive pricing but more than that they guided me through the entire process; from corrective editing to book cover design and marketing tools they were with me from start to finish. They also offered after publishing ideas including author pages and a personal web site. I would rate my overall experience with Luminare Press as first rate. Ronald Lutz

by Ronald Lutz

  • Released: January 2020
  • Genre: Novels
Kudos to the highly professional (and often whimsical) Luminare Press team for shepherding my novel, Jetty Cat Palace Café, to publication! I will always be deeply grateful to Patricia and her staff for their intuitive nudges from design to editing to marketing; for encouraging me and treating my work with respect; for always responding to my emails; and for making my dream come true. I highly recommend Luminare Press! I can’t wait to work with them again! Judy Keeslar Santamaria

by Judy Keeslar Santamaria

  • Released: December 2019
  • Genre: Novels
Luminare is as professional as it gets. My book is ready for prime time and a national book tour. The expertise and attention to detail was first rate. I am thrilled to have given this life work to Luminare. Danuta Pfeiffer

by Danuta Pfeiffer

  • Genre: Memoirs
Patricia Marshall and her staff at Luminare Press offer stellar service. Patricia broke the process down into manageable steps and kept me on track to my book publication date. I look forward to a long-term relationship with Luminare Press. Stacey Gustafson

by Stacey Gustafson

  • Genre: Memoirs
print-on-demand press, publish your book, poetry
I was through with rejection. It was time to move on, and Patricia could help me reach my dream. She made it easy, fun, timely, and inexpensive. All the right ingredients. Phil Pochurek

by Phil Pochurek

  • Genre: Poetry
how to self publish your book, publish your novel
Like most beginning writers I went through a long series of missteps. Finally I made the decision to self-publish; but the choices were bewildering. I found what I needed in Luminare Press. Patricia made the whole process understandable. She was patient, thorough, and encouraging. The final result is a top-quality book that I can offer with great pride. I highly recommend Luminare Press. Michael Morrison

by Michael Morrison

  • Genre: Novels
self-publishing, print your memoir
Wow. Amazing. Really wonderful work. You are capturing exactly what I wanted. The process is terrific and the product is beautiful and inviting – exactly what I was hoping for. Anne Ayers Koch

by Anne Ayers Koch

  • Genre: Memoirs
I appreciate the design and your professionalism. It looks really nice. Plus it was nice to not have to do all that work myself again! Self-publishing is a lot of work. Mark Holtzen

by Sara Hoffman Mockett

  • Genre: Memoirs
self publishing your book, self publish your book
Luminare Press is tops! My book is drop-dead gorgeous from cover to cover. Indie publishing has given me great control over my book and maximized my returns. Luminare Press was quick, efficient, ethical, everything I want in a business partner. I am so glad I went with them. Alida Birch

by Alida Birch

  • Genre: Business, How-to and Self-Help
book printing, book publishers
Luminare produces great results. Patricia approached my book project with enthusiasm, and she provided a constant source of practical guidance throughout. And she has a highly competent team at Luminare. Vicky Amorose

by Vicky Amorose

  • Genre: Business, How-to and Self-Help
Patricia Marshall and her staff at Luminare Press offer stellar service. Patricia broke the process down into manageable steps and kept me on track to my book publication date. I look forward to a long-term relationship with Luminare Press. Stacey Gustafson

by Stacey Gustafson

  • Genre: Memoirs
publish your book, publishing companies
Personal assistance is important to me, and I received more than expected during the publishing process. Patricia worked extra quickly to help me meet a deadline. I was thrilled with the published book. It looked better than I had imagined. Julaina Kleist-Corwin

by Julaina Kleist-Corwin

  • Genre: Anthologies